Help
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Copilot Lvl 2
Message 1 of 3

Importing a repository and deleting original

Solved! Go to Solution.

Hello

 

I have gone to homepage> import repository and created a new one from a private repository. If the original gets deleted, will my repository delete files aswell or it remains intact?

 

Thanks in advance.

2 Replies
Community Manager
Message 2 of 3

Re: Importing a repository and deleting original

Hi @geoscotton,

This post was moved to a different board that fits your topic of discussion a bit better. This means you’ll get better engagement on your post, and it keeps our Community organized so users can more easily find information.

As you’ll notice, your Topic is now in the How to use Git and GitHub board. No action is needed on your part; you can continue the conversation as normal here.

Cheers!

Solution
Moderator
Message 3 of 3

Re: Importing a repository and deleting original

If you imported anything other than a private repository from some other GitHub account, then it should be a copy of the original and deleting the original will not have any effect on your newly imported repository. If you imported a private repository from a GitHub org and it is marked as a fork of that repository, then it may still be connected and deleting the original might affect the new repository. If that is the case, you should reach out to private support so they can take a look at the private account details to let you know what the situation is.