Help
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Copilot Lvl 2
Message 1 of 4

Can Github (for Windows) warn if someone other than myself made changes to the remote repository?

Can the Github (for Windows) GUI warn if someone other than myself has made changes to the remote repository?

 

I often use Github just to record my codes changes even on projects that normally only I make changes to, though  other colleagues may have edit access to these repositories.

 

Other than logging into Github using a browser, is there a way or an option to see/be warned if anyone besides myself, has made changes to my remote repository *before* I click the Sync button in the Github GUI?

3 Replies
Highlighted
GitHub Staff
Message 2 of 4

Re: Can Github (for Windows) warn if someone other than myself made changes to the remote repository

Good question @probeman!

 

You mentioned that you are using the `Sync` button, which means that you are using an older version of GitHub Desktop that is no longer being updated. There is an entirely rewritten version available for download that no longer has the `Sync` button, but instead has separate`pull` and `push` actions (which is what `Sync` did).

 

In the new version you will also see an indicator showing the number of commits that need to either be pulled or pushed:

 

pull-button

 

This way you will know if you need to pull down any new changes prior to pushing your local changes up to the remote repository. Hopefully that is what you are looking for!

Highlighted
Copilot Lvl 2
Message 3 of 4

Re: Can Github (for Windows) warn if someone other than myself made changes to the remote repository

Thanks for the info.

 

Does this new Github Desktop version still work with private repositories on BitBucket?

 

If so, is there a procedure documented for upgrading my GitHub for Windows so I still maintain my connection to my existing repository?

GitHub Staff
Message 4 of 4

Re: Can Github (for Windows) warn if someone other than myself made changes to the remote repository

>Does this new Github Desktop version still work with private repositories on BitBucket?

 

It does support working with non-GitHub repositories. If you go to `File` > `Clone repository` you will `URL` option where you can insert an .git URL to clone. Once you click `Clone` you will prompted for your Bitbucket credentials (if needed).

 

>If so, is there a procedure documented for upgrading my GitHub for Windows so I still maintain my connection to my existing repository?

 

There isn't a way to directly import repositories from the classic version into the new, but what I recommend is to drag-and-drop your repositories directly in. That is the quickest way to add them in bulk. If you are adding a Bitbucket repository you will likely be asked for your credentials again when pushing or pulling, but everything else should work without issue.