Transferring a repository

Hello,
As I saw here, It is possible to transfer ownership of a repository to another user/organization.
After transferring, if someone will do any command (fetch, pull, push, …) to the previous remote it will be automatically redirected to the new origin.
[means that the name of the repository is still in use at the first account]

Let’s say I want to stay with the redirection for some time, allowing users to update their local git with the new origin URL but then to remove the redirection from the previous account.
How can I remove the redirection?

I’m pretty sure if you create a new repository by the same name, that’ll break the redirect. You can then delete the replacement repository to yield a typical 404 (I don’t think GitHub uses 410).

1 Like