The user site can be visited even when the repo has been deleted

I have created a user site username.github.io linking to a repo. However, I accidentally deleted the repo before I unpublish it. I thought the username.github.io site will be automatically disabled but somehow it does not. I can still visit the page but cannot modify it because there is no repo now!

Does anyone have an idea about how to solve this? Thank you very much!

1 Like

Hello and thank you for posting here,

Pages sites are automatically deleted upon repository deletion. This is automatic and you don’t need to do anything.

Looking at the repositories you deleted under your account, I understand where your confusion is coming from.

You named your repositories: xiwu.github.io and wuxi.github.io but your GitHub username is siwwwwu. Your user Pages site can only be created in a repository named siwwwwu.github.io. Both xiwu and wuxi are other GitHub accounts that may (or may not) have an existing user Pages site you have no control over.

I hope this clarifies the situation!

2 Likes

I see what the problem is. Thank you very much!