Stashed changes problem

Hi. I recently started using GitHub Desktop to be able to work away from the office, but I encountered a problem I haven’t seen before.

I was making some changes on a branch that I was going to delete (just a few tests before deletion) and by mistake switched to another one. In the process, the changes I was making automatically ended up in a stash - which I only realized after deleting the branch I wanted to delete.

Now, despite pressing Restore or Discard changes on such stash, it just won’t let me get rid of it. 

Does anyone know what I’m supposed to do in this instance? It has - so far as I know - no impact at all on my work and current branches, but it is annoying to constantly have a notification saying “you have X changes in a stash(…)”

Would really appreaciate any tips.

Thank you

PS. When I discard, it asks me if I’m sure, but after doing Discard again, nothing happens. When I try to Restore - probably because the branch is already gone - it prompts me with a bunch of errors for each asset I changed saying Y Asset (asset path) “already exists, no checkout”; also (Restore/Discard) buttons end up getting locked after that, which is only fixable by restarting GitHub Desktop.

TL;DR: I deleted a branch with changes in it which were placed in a stash. Such stash isn’t restorable or discardable for some reason. Can you help me? 

 @mystixshot are you still having issues with GitHub Desktop? If so it’d be helpful if you could upload the log file from GitHub Desktop, which should give some more information about this error.

To access the log files go to the file menu in GitHub Desktop and select Help > Show Logs in Finder (macOS) or Explorer (Windows). The log files are created daily – please upload a log file as an attachment from a day where you experienced the issue.

1 Like

I’m seeing this with an .exe which occurred when switching between two branches.
Neither deleted.
Any updates? Any git bash commands to remedy?