Should it be possible to make delete / transfer permission more granular

The delete / transfer permission in an organization is not granular. I think it should be useful to split that permission and make a specific one for delete and another one for transfer.

Ref.: Setting permissions for deleting or transferring repositories - GitHub Docs

:wave: Welcome!

Could you tell me a bit more about how you’d use those permissions? I think giving transfer permissions also gives (effective) deletion permissions by default, but is there a benefit to allowing deletions but not transfers?

In an organization, the members can create private or internal repositories only. Administrators don’t want to make it possible to transfer a repository from an organization to another one (because access management is possible only on the organization they control, not the private user account space for each member).

But in the end, if a member create a repository in the organization, it should be possible for him to delete the repository he just created, but not to transfer it since it’s an intellectual property of the organization.

For what I see, I think currently it’s only possible to apply those two permissions together, or remove them together.

I don’t know if it makes it more clear?

It does! I’ve added your feedback to an existing request for the same functionality. I can’t give an ETA on when or if that will be implemented, but your feedback will be seen by the teams involved.

1 Like