Should I delete my fork, after my PR has been approved?

Hi all. I’ve searched but can’t decide. Should I delete my fork, after my PR has been approved? How this can affect my PR or profile?
I’ve read Github Docs about this but couldn’t find the direct answer. Can anyone help me?

Deleting your fork won’t affect the upstream repository at all, so it only depends on whether you want to keep the fork around. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

We’ve had a situation where someone deleted their fork and GitHub auto-closed their PRs:

This pull request was closed .

Instead of the usual:

[user] closed this [time] ago.

The PR author has deleted their fork in the past and their PR was kept open.

Has something changed at GitHub?

I’m not sure if that behavior changed recently, but my reply above was meant to be about what happens after the PR has been merged, so there definitely isn’t anything left to do. Sorry if that was unclear.

1 Like