Question about additions & deletions

Hello, I’m curious to why certain lines on my commits show a deletion and an addition when I simply just commented something out. Didn’t backspace or anything. Shouldn’t this show as a modification and not a deletion or is it just the nature of Github to show as a deletion?

It’s the nature of git in general to show changed lines as the old version being deleted and the new version added.