Please define "legacy account"

Can GitHub please accurately define what a legacy account is and what characteristics it has that makes it different to other non-lgacy account options.

Is there just one type of legacy account?

Can one visit their account page (e.g. our organization settings) and “convert” a legacy account to some other type of account or must we close the account and open a new one? If so might we lose our repos by mistake?

Hi @korporal,

Legacy accounts are accounts that are billed per-repository instead of the per-user plans that are current, see https://github.com/pricing for the current plans and https://github.blog/2016-05-11-introducing-unlimited-private-repositories/ for the announcement of the new pricing plans.

If you have an account on an older plan, you can change to a new plan without having to close the account.