Optional ban for Russia and Belarus due to Ukraine war

I’ve seen some other requests regarding banning russian users from GitHub due to the horrific actions Putin is putting in place in Ukraine and I understand “GitHub’s vision is to be the home for all developers… etc etc” but could you at least let the users decide if they want their open source repositories be accessible and used in those countries? With a switch in the settings or something similar?


GitHub’s vision is to be the home for all developers, no matter where they reside. We take our obligations with respect to government mandates seriously, which includes complying with stringent new export controls aimed at severely restricting Russia’s access to technologies and other items needed to sustain its aggressive military capabilities.

We also take seriously our responsibility to examine government mandates thoroughly to be certain that users and customers are not impacted beyond the scope of the mandates. This includes protecting open collaboration and the free flow of information in our interconnected community to support communications, humanitarian work, and organizing for change. You can read more about our policies on GitHub Docs.

In accordance with our Community Forum Code of Conduct, we are closing this discussion.