Merge history after deleting a primary e-mail

Hi,

Currently, I have emailA as primary and emailB as backup. Now, I want to set emailB as primary, but still want to keep all the merge history using emailA to associate with my account. Is there a way to do so? When I try delete my primary email (emailA), I got a pop saying:

“Are you sure you want to remove this email from your account? Once removed, commits attributed to this email address will no longer be associated with your account. One of your other emails will become your primary address.”

Does this mean all merge history using emailA will no longer associated with my account? Maybe, is there a way to swap the primary and backup e-mail?

Thanks

This can be closed.

I need to add a 3rd email before GitHub allow me to swap the primary and backup email.

1 Like