Managing contributors on a private repo

Hi folks, 

I have a private repo. When I have a person contribute to the repo I enlist them as a contributer. 

On removing them as a contributor does this mean they no longer have access to any of the files that they might of pulled of that repo? 

I’ve removed them as a contributor, changed all passwords but just wish to verify this. My main concern is that they are able to use the files they have pulled for their own personal gain. 

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi dsbell62,

This post was moved to a different board that fits your topic of discussion a bit better. This means you’ll get better engagement on your post, and it keeps our Community organized so users can more easily find information.

As you’ll notice, your Topic is now in the How to use Git & GitHub board.

Let me know if you have any other questions or if I can help with anything else.

Cheers!

Jacqui

2 Likes

Hi @dsbell62

Removing a collaborator on your private repo means that person can no longer view, access, or contribute to the repo. Additionally, any forks the person made of your private repo would be deleted. However, if the user made any local copies of your repo, they would retain access to those.

We have a Help article on this that I’d recommend reading:

https://help.github.com/articles/removing-a-collaborator-from-a-personal-repository/

Let me know if you have any other questions or if I can help with anything else.

2 Likes