It's too easy to create an unintended fork of an existing project

I was navigating a github project recently and clicked on the Fork button because I thought it would show me the current fork information regarding the project. Instead, it automatically created a fork of the project for me, which was NOT what I wanted at all.

I ended up spending a good 5-10 minutes trying to figure out how to delete this newly forked project. 

Can you make it a two step process, asking the user for confirmation that they actually want to fork the particular project? As it is now, it’s a bit of a nuisance, to deal with the aftermath of an unintentionally forked project.

And I’m sure that, a few months from now, I’ll again forget that the Fork button will automatically fork a project for me, without asking for confirmation, and click it again…

3 Likes

Hi @ginobean,

For now, the best way to submit bug reports or feature requests is via our contact page (github.com/contact). GitHub Staff working in the Forum will see and respond to those requests there.

That said, I do want to share that we are working on a new tool and process for submitting these sorts of things for the Community Forum (and for github.com). This is still in the investigative stage, and I don’t have a timeline to share, but we are planning on improving this process.

We also recognize the desire for feature requests to be visible to other users, commented on, and even voted on. These are all things that we are taking into consideration when looking at implementing a new process.

Thank you so much for the feedback! I’ll be locking this thread from further replies, and I encourage you to send your feature request via the contact form linked above.

Thanks!

1 Like