Is this normal on Git for Windows?

Just trying to commit to my GH repo from the command line on Windows, it’s the first time I’ve done this.

After setting up my commit I did git push --set-upstream origin master and this window appeared:

Is that meant to happen, and am I OK to put my GitHub login details into it? Or is there something weird or concerning going on here?

1 Like

Hey, welcome to the GitHub Support Community! This is normal behavior, as the system doesn’t have any saved Git account credentials. Once you fill in your information, you should not need to fill it in again afterwards.

Hope this helps!

Thanks - I’ll go ahead and log in there then :+1:

1 Like