Is there a way to delete or hide old/renamed Workflows?

I made a Workflow using the Node CI template and then later renamed it.  Now my Workflow list has “Node CI” in it, but that doesnt even exist anymore.  Is there some way for me to hide it?  Or is it there forever?

11 Likes

You can’t remove it yet, but it won’t be there forever.  You can’t delete it yet but we’ll have functionality to delete this in the future.

17 Likes

Its been 3 months since this post?  Can I delete yet?   Its annoying that a typo leaves an action in the workflow

2 Likes

Hi,

any updates on this issue/feature?

we have several spurious workflows here: https://github.com/devitocodes/devito/actions

and we’re really looking forward for some clean up …

Thanks!

2 Likes

Any updates on that ?

1 Like

I got all excited when I saw this was marked as “solved/go to solution”. Then I found the solution was to wait as it would be fixed sometime in the future! We could close all our issues right now with the same message :wink:

Seriously though, while we love actions and are creating/recreating lots of them, our actions page littered with orphaned action detritus. 

8 Likes

@ethomson wrote:

You can’t remove it yet, but it won’t be there forever.  You can’t delete it yet but we’ll have functionality to delete this in the future.

How is this solved? Any update on this? And what do you mean by won’t be there forever? They do.

2 Likes

Hi, with all due respect this doesn’t exactly “solve” the problem, is there any update or ETA on this please? Thanks

5 Likes

We really need this feature… Wanna get rid of those old experimental workflows.

6 Likes

Hi, any ETA on this?

Thanks!

Has anyone figured a way to clean them?

Also looking forward to seeing this. 

@jakakokosar wrote:

How is this solved?

“solved” = “won’t fix” it seems.

1 Like

Hey Guys, i see that many have asked this me also was going to ask, but i found a work around.
you can simply go to your repo home_folder/.github/workflows, Then delete the workflow that you wish to remove and commit :wink:

This is not working. I deleted the workflow but still actions has all history of workflow executions. Currently there is no way to get rid of this.

1 Like

I tried this myself, make sure you push to github repo after you delete files related to workflow.

Any update about this issue ?

Also hoping for this. I accidentally put the dependabot.yml file in my .workflows folder and now I can’t remove the workflow even after deleting the file.

It seems like if you delete all the Workflow run individually the workflow will also be removed.

1 Like