I have rebased my repo, but that pushed commit is still available via direct link, how do I remove it?

I have pushed something by mistake and I wanted to remove completely that commit. I did

git push -f origin last_known_good_commit:branch_name and then I have undone the commits on Atom as well. Now the commits that I see in the pull request I am working on are indeed those that were meant to be seen. However, if someone has the full hash of the commit can still open and view its content at the direct link

https://github.com/repo/repo/commit/hashhashhashhashhashhashhashhashhashhashhashhash

How do I remove this last trace of the commit?

Hi @RobertoFranceschini! :wave: Welcome to the Community!

You’ll need to contact GitHub Support and ask them to clear the repository’s web caches!

https://support.github.com/contact

(It’s step 8 of the removing sensitive data guide.)

Just sent the request. Thanks a lot!

1 Like