How to update to limited public beta when creating first workflow

I have a repository which currently does not contain a workflow file.

Now i want to use the new yaml syntax to define a new workflow, but the repository is in old HCL mode and i don’t get the option to update, even after i added the new workflow file.

The workflow with the new syntax is not detected by GitHub and i only can create workflows with the old syntax

This happens on all of my new repos as well. When the v2 beta rolled out there was a popup on each repo, but they removed that so now you need to create an HCL style workflow in a branch (can be as simple as echoing something out on push), PR it, then view the file. Above the editor there should be a link to upgrade to v2. I wish they kept the popup or moved that link into the settings page so it was easier to upgrade.