GitHub Hosted Runner Lifespan

Does the GitHub Hosted Runner live beyond a workflow run or is it freed / destroyed right after the workflow run? I may have some sensitive information that needs to be stored at the server level during the workflow run. That’s why I am raising this query. Please clarify preferably with some links.

Each job (not just workflow) gets a fresh VM. See:

Each job in a workflow executes in a fresh instance of the virtual machine. All steps in the job execute in the same instance of the virtual machine, allowing the actions in that job to share information using the filesystem.

1 Like