Github Actions Permission to Rerun Workflows

I have noticed that according to https://docs.github.com/en/free-pro-team@latest/actions/managing-workflow-runs/re-running-a-workflow, “Read Access” is all I need to re-run a workflow but from working with https://github.com/alluxio/alluxio/ repo, it doesn’t appear to be the case. I would like to avoid giving everyone write permissions for people to have this feature (this was the lowest level of permission that was required to make this work), is there an alternative?

1 Like

@bradyoo,

I can reproduce the same behavior.
According to my test, the collaborators who are at least the “Write” role can run, re-run, cancel and delete workflow runs in a repository.
The collaborators who are the “Read” or “Triage” role can only view workflow runs in the repository.

1 Like

Yep that is exactly the behavior we see as well. We migrated to github-actions because we trusted the docs and assumed that our contributors can rerun workflows easily. :frowning:

@bradyoo,

I have created and issue ticket (github/docs#644) to report the issue of the docs to the appropriate engineering team for further investigation and evaluation.

You can follow this issue ticket and add your comments to it.

2 Likes