GitHub: A warning to users when resolving conflicts

Hi,

Apologies to GitHub if I’m wrong, but I wanted to mention a problem with the implementation of conflict resolution in GitHub.

If I recall when we resolve pull request merge conflicts inside GitHub the commit that contains the resolve changes gets committed to the “from” branch.

This is fine for pull requests that are merging project and feature branches to master but it is a problem when mergin from master to other branches.

Doing such merges modifies master and can have unexpected consequences if you’re not expecting that, anyone who pulls from master after the PR is merged will see this commit and it can cause problems/confusion.

I reported this on March 14, 2017 and got a reply from @lecoursen and do not know what the current status is - again, apologies if I have this wrong.

Thanks

1 Like

Hi @korporal,

Thanks for this feedback! We’re always working to improve GitHub and the GitHub Community Forum, and we consider every suggestion we receive. I’ve logged your feature request in our internal feature request list. Though I can’t guarantee anything or share a timeline for this, I can tell you that it’s been shared with the appropriate teams for consideration.

Cheers!

I’ve just wasted a lot of time reverting commits because of this behavior. Please make PR conflic resolution only commit to the to branch