I am subscribed to a few high-volume git repos, so I almost never have zero unread notifications, which means that the bell always has a blue ball and no longer gives me information about new notifications.
What I would like is for the blue ball on the notification bell to be cleared as soon as I visit the notification page instead of when I have marked all notifications as read. Kind of like YouTube and Twitter does on their notification bells.
As it is now, I am forced to either
- mark all notifications as read regularly and lose the information on which issues I have actually read
- leave the unread notifications unread and never see when new notifications appear unless I manually visit the notifications page
- spend all the time required to read all the notifications and only get information about new notifications after I’ve done that
- unsubscribe from those high-volume repos and no longer get information about them
I have currently chosen 2, which works apart from the lack of information from the bell icon, but I am not satisfied with that.