Disable automatic watching at org level

Is there a way to disable automatic watching of repositories for an entire organization?

Right now it appears to be a user-level setting which is enabled by default and spans all orgs.

Unfortunately, this tends to subscribe users to a large number of notifications when they join an org with many repos and open write permissions.

Hi @MaxHorstmann,

You are correct in that this is a user-level setting. Your team members would need to toggle that setting individually at the location you have linked to here.

We’re always working to improve GitHub and the GitHub Support Community, and we consider every suggestion we receive.
You can do so by submitting this through our official product feedback form so that our product team can track your request.

You can also keep an eye on our Changelog as well as the GitHub public roadmap to see features we are working on.