In a PR, the Merge Button can have three possibilities:
- Create a merge commit
- Squash and merge
- Rebase and merge
You can configure which of these possibilities can appear repository-wide.
Is it possible to configure this by branch?
I would like to configure:
- master: only merge commits
- develop: only squash
or whatever suits your branching policy.
Now, the person that clicks the merge button by default will see whatever was the last option they used (maybe in a different branch) and must change the option. It’s not hard, but it’s a source of error.