"Close issue" no longer switches to "Comment and close"

The “Close issue” button used to change to “Comment and close” if you started typing a response. This no longer seems to be the case. It still does comment and close, just doesn’t tell you that’s what its doing. I only confirmed it actually still did it after a few weeks of switching to doing that in two stages - first commenting, then closing; I just checked if it actually still did it with a small comment.