Can't use the username from a deleted account

Hello everyone.

A few weeks ago, I deleted my GitHub account since I didn’t need it anymore. I was using my old username, aScordino.

After some days, I changed my mind, because of the needs of storing various repositories, and decided of re-creating my account. I was trying to use my old username, but it didn’t accept it.

Reading the documentation on “Deleting your user account”, they specifically say that your username will be available to anyone for use on GitHub.

Is GitHub not applying this rule? Is this happening to anyone? I tried to make a ticket about this twice and they closed it/ignored. Even if I reopened it and still ignored it.