Can't see member who was converted to outside collaborator anymore

I just changed someone’s status from member of the org to an outside collaborator. There was a message saying that the change would take a few minutes. After about 20-30 minutes, I no longer seem them as a member, and they’re not listed as an outside collaborator either. They don’t show up in the org anymore. Anyone know why this may be happening?

:wave: Welcome!

I tested this, and it’s a bit confusing, so thank you for asking.

In order for this to work the way one might expect it to work, the member you are changing to a collaborator must have specific repository access in addition to the repository access they have by virtue of being a member.

To do this, you go to the specific repository settings and manage access and grant them whatever role is required for that specific repository, and so on, for every repository where they will require access.

Then, when you go back and change them to a collaborator, they will lose the general organisation membership, but retain the specific repository access they have.

If they don’t have specific repository access beyond what being an organisation member gives them, using that option will simply remove them from the organisation.

I hope this clears things up for you. I’m also going to raise this as an issue to see can we improve the usability here.