Cannot turn off "automatically deleting head branches"

I was surprised when my head branch of the PR was deleted. I restored it, went to Settings and found this:


I’ve tried setting and unsetting the checkbox - how do I get rid of the green check and turn this off permanently for this repo? Is there a user-wide setting to turn off for ALL my repos now and going forward? I’ll do my own branch management, thank you.

:wave: Welcome!

It looks like the check exists to confirm that you’ve changed the setting, not whether the setting is true/false. If you refresh the page, the green check disappears and only reappears when you’ve made another change.

Ok I’ll try it but wow that’s confusing.