When searching a wiki, deleted pages are included in the search results.
To reproduce this bug:
- Create a page named “Test 1”
- Delete the page (or rename the page from “Test 1” to “Test 2”).
- Search for “Test”, then select the “Wikis” tab.
- “Test 1” (and “Test 2”) will usually appear in the search results.
- When a user clicks “Test 1”, they will be taken to the “Create new page”. This is very confusing for users. Users are not notified that the page has been deleted, and users aren’t shown the version history of the deleted page.
Clearly this is not good. I have a wiki that contains 1,000+ pages. A few weeks ago we renamed all the pages to a new naming convention, and now weeks later search results are still showing most of these deleted pages alongside the current pages… This has rendered search not user friendly. When searching the contents of a wiki, search results should not show deleted pages.