Automatic deletion of a merged pull request

Usually when having all approvals I merge my pull request and after I have merged it  there remains a button that I can also delete the branch; usually I do that.

However a lot of colleagues forget it and using Jenkins with multibranch pipeline jobs they have a growing list of jobs that are not used anymore becasue that job type always tracks all branches. 

Is there a way to configure that a merged branch is automatically deleted? Originally coming from another repository tool there was a checkbox remembering my decision until I change it again on a next PR before merging.

kind regards,

Thomas

Actually there is no way to do this, but there is a tool that maybe help gitflow.

2 Likes

Hi @nachtfeuer,

Thanks for this feedback! We’re always working to improve GitHub, and we consider every suggestion we receive. I’ve logged your feature request in our internal feature request list. Though I can’t guarantee anything or share a timeline for this, I can tell you that it’s been shared with the appropriate teams for consideration.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Cheers!

2 Likes

GitHub supports this feature now! See the documentation.

1 Like