Ask for confirmation before forking a project when using the editor

Pressing the “E” key when browsing a repository automatically opens the code editor for that file, but as a side effect it also silently creates a fork of the repository under my personal account.

The behaviour is not consistent with the “Fork” button on the repository header, which asks if I want to create the fork on my personal account or on an organization account. Is there a way to disable or at least ask for confirmation before creating such fork, or should I propose as feedback such feature?

Not to talk how tiresome it is having to go to the settings page to remove the fork, or even the stress of accidentally hitting the E key when sneaking over repositories found in the Explore section or in my activity feed. It feels like when you accidentally like a post on other social networks…