Any way to prevent automerge from resetting checks?

Hi,

We need to update the version number file in our MR however doing so in an action causes all the status checks to reset. We’ve tried to do things like enabling auto-merge after we push the updated version file but that still resets the checks.

We have also added [skip ci] but that too is ignored.

So far can’t find any way to use auto-merge but allow action to update a file.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks