In our team, we’re using a fork and PR model: everyone creates a fork, works on his/her own fork, and then sends a PR to merge into the main branch.
When a PR is received, someone in the team reviews it, there’s some intense back and forth, and then eventually it is merged into the main branch.
For everyone to use this workflow, we need the ability to configure users so that they are allowed to click on the “merge button” on the main repository, but they are not allowed to do things like create branches, or push directly to master.
I’ve tried a bunch of combinations with protected branches and several other settings, but so far no luck.
I suspect I stumbled upon this bug/issue here, but seems like such a simple and common workflow, that there ought to be a simple way to implement it?